AskNana

Now that holidays are over and I’ve had some rest, it’s time to begin planning for this sping/summer season. I live far north and it’s a short season, so all the work has to get done at a pretty fast pace. I cleared some woods last year with the forestry mulcher, so this year it has to be York raked and grass seed planted. There is the pond, which I spend thousands of hours cleaning, adding chemicals to keep it balanced and maintenence for the fish we stock, clearing of dead or fallen trees..and of course normal mowing,weed wacking and 8 flower gardens and 3 vegetable gardens. A multitude of equipment maintenence and odd jobs. This year after seeing the price of EGGS was 22.00…I refuse to pay that…I’m getting chickens and ducks in the spring, which also includes putting up fencing and housing so the coyote and fox don’t eat them! I love spring/ summer but onto of my full time nurseing job, I continue to build our homestead..we have had failures….THE PIGS…and sucess..so much cleared and new healthy trees planted and growing! I welcome any advice for the birds…I have a 1 acre pond…many predators…including bear and bobcat…I’m excited to grow again this year and share my adventures with you! Happy new year ! Happy Hogmany! May the new year bring growth and joy with friends and family.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started